Governor roles and structure

Ormiston Denes Academy is committed to delivering an exceptional education for its students. As such, all aspects of our provision are required to be of the highest standard. Our expert governance team works to both support and hold to account senior leaders in the fulfilment of our aspirations.

Our governors:

  • Work with leaders to communicate the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the academy, and develop a culture of ambition.
  • Provide a balance of challenge and support to leaders, understanding the strengths and areas needing improvement at the academy.
  • Understand the impact of teaching, learning and assessment on the progress of students in the academy.
  • Ensure that the academy’s finances are properly managed, and can evaluate how the academy is using the pupil premium, Year 7 literacy and numeracy catch-up premium and special educational needs funding.
  • Are transparent and accountable, including in the recruitment of staff, governance structures, attendance at meetings and contact with parents.

Current governors

Name Role Appointed Appointed by Term
Mrs Kate Williams Principal 1st Sept 2021 OAT Ongoing
Mrs Tina Ellis Chair of Governors
Attendance/ safeguarding
Linked with English
1st Apr 2013 OAT Ongoing
Mrs Carole Davies Vice Chair of Governors
Catch Up funding
Pupil Premium
Student voice
Linked with humanities, MFL and PSHE
7th Jan 2019 LGB 4 year term
Mrs Louise Bernasconi Parent Governor
Safeguarding, parent forum
18th Feb 2015 Parents 4 year term
Mrs Catherine Craig Community Governor
SEND (Pastoral)
1st Nov 2018 OAT 4 year term
Mrs Emma Ratzer Community Governor
Mental health and wellbeing (Staff)
1st Sept 2019 OAT 4 year term
Mr Matt Page Community Governor
3rd Jan 2020 LGB 4 year term
Mr Steve Keeble Community Governor
SEND (Curriculum)
Linked with science
1st April 2021 LGB 4 year term
Mrs Suzanne Smith Staff Governor
1st Sept 2019 Staff 4 year term
Mrs Julie Richings Staff Governor
Mental health and well- being (Students)
1st Apr 2021 Support staff 4 year term

Chair of Governors, Mrs Tina Ellis can be contacted by emailing our Clerk to the Governors (as shown below) or writing to Ormiston Denes Academy, Yarmouth Road, Lowestoft, Suffolk NR32 4AH.

Clerk to the Governors is Mrs L Taylor who can be contacted at

Structure of Committees

Governing Body/Panel Structure
Local Governing Body Full Governors, Chair: Tina Ellis
Finance and General Purpose 5 Governors, Chair: vacant
Student Development Board 4 Governors, Chair: Carole Davies
Strategic Progress Board 4 Governors, Chair: Simon Gilbert – Barnham, OAT Assistant Regional Director
Disciplinary Panel 3 Governors
Admissions Panel 4 Governors
Exclusions Panel 3 Governors
Governors available for interviews Tina Ellis

Meeting dates and attendance

Governor meeting dates 2020-2021

Disclosed business and pecuniary interests

Governor Business/Pecuniary interest
Mrs Kate Williams Nothing to declare
Mrs Tina Ellis Vice Chair of Governors East Coast College, Member of Lowestoft and Waveney Chamber Executive
Mrs Carole Davies Nothing to declare
Mrs Louise Bernasconi Interest held in alternative provision: Basecamp
Mrs Catherine Craig Nothing to declare
Mrs Emma Ratzer Nothing to declare
Mr Matt Page Director of Faculty (Creative & Performance) at Lowestoft 6th Form College
Mr Steve Keeble Self – employed curriculum consultant
Mrs Suzanne Smith Nothing to declare
Mrs Julie Richings Nothing to declare

Additional information

Governance at Ormiston Denes Academy

OAT Local Governing Body Terms of Reference 

Ormiston Academies Trust Scheme of Delegation

Apply to be a governor

To apply to be a governor, please download and complete our Governor Expression of Interest form (below).

Expression of Interest – Ormiston Governor

If you wish to contact our governors please email the academy in the first instance, care of

Latest News